I’m back… no really, I am!

Blogging is hard. You have to be consistent and keep coming back to it. You have to have time to dedicate to it and you have to keep your readers interested. Well, I stopped blogging because I got a job. Not just any job, a dream job, running social media accounts and writing marketing emails for a local company just a ten-minute drive away. And then… the bloody coronavirus hit and work have been massively affected, as is any other business, as well as our daily lives, and everyone is home more than ever in lockdown until the tidal wave of infection passes over us all and we’re allowed to go back to whatever normal after a pandemic is.

In the meantime, I’m watching a lot of television again. And my, there is so much to watch. I watch a wide variety of television and I think I have some suggestions for whatever you might be in to. So I’ll go through what I’ve been watching and who I watch it with.

So… the easy one… what I’m watching with my teenage daughters… Friday Night Dinners…

Friday Night Dinner set to end after new season | The Independent

My husband and I have never watched it, not sure why but watching it with my teenagers is epic, we howl with laughter and shout at the telly every time Jackie lets Jim in the house as he “accidentally” falls over and drools. It’s not even that bad with the language and suggestive talk so there are no really cringey moments that you’d hate watching with your kids. We’ve already binged the first two seasons and I’m sure we’ll catch up next week.

What I’m watching with the husband: aside from ever so boring episodes of The Walking Dead and Westworld, and I’ve done blogs about those… I’m not sure why I keep watching them but we are also watching The Good Doctor which is like a poor man’s House. I’m much more excited about Grey’s Anatomy coming back to our screens tomorrow!

For films, we watched Rocketman and it was again, ok, but I have to say Bohemian Rhapsody was a much better biopic. We also watched Midsommar on Amazon Prime and that was pretty mind-blowingly horrific even in comparison to its predecessor, Hereditary. I wouldn’t watch it if you are sensitive to violence and body horror, it’s quite graphic.

On my own, I’ve been watching way too much but I’ll give a brief description of everything I’ve watched so far:

Belgravia – ok but not as good as Downton, quite bleak as Tamsin Grieg and Paul Ritter are both in this but miserable as sin. Also, the whole plot seems to revolve around the shame of an unwed mother and her abandoned child which all seems so old fashioned and such a tired storyline. 

Liar – ok but not as exciting as the first season but Joanne Froggatt from Downton is in it and I’m obsessed and she’s a fab actress (amazing line up of British actresses, actually!)

Sunnyside – Kal Penn’s new comedy series which is based it my old home town in Queens… so far so funny, I want more!

Then I need to talk about Amazon Prime… what a novelty. While Netflix seems to show endless episodes of Riverdale with some of the worst acting and storylines I have ever seen… Amazon Prime has some winners, along with StarzPlay which I have avoided adding because of the extra charge.

On the main channel, Picard has been absolutely epic. My husband and I fell in love over our fondness for Star Trek so this has been a beautiful return to one of our favourites with many of the old cast returning.

Star Trek: Picard (Official Site) Watch on CBS All Access

The opening credits are stunning and cinematic and the show is everything I have been craving for in Star Trek. Discovery was great but far too complicated. The plot in this is filled with nostalgia and the ever-present philosophical quandaries that the old Captain (now Admiral) finds himself in. It’s an absolute must for Trekkies.

Then there’s Outlander which I’ve been obsessed with for some time and the latest season has been fairly good.

I finally switched over to StarzPlay on the promise of three months for only 99p a month and during Lockdown I have plenty of time to enjoy this.

I’ve already binge-watched and obsessed over Four Weddings and a Funeral which at first, the glossy good looking actors with mediocre acting skills put me off, but the writing from British Asian comedienne Bisha K Ali was absolutely fantastic! A spot-on representation of BAME characters.

Four Weddings and a Funeral - AHA

I am also a few episodes into The Spanish Princess which I’m also loving after having read the books many years ago.

So… overall… there’s plenty to watch at the moment and I’ll be regularly posting on my Facebook page where you can comment and feedback or give me suggestions for things to watch and review!

Can I also just ask, if you’re watching these shows, do try and pay and subscribe for it because the artists involved in these shows don’t work for free and right now they need the money more than ever. Most productions and theatre have come to a full halt and for people to continue pirating film and television is just not ok. Artists need to be paid, or else, what else will you watch on tv without them????

 

Leave a comment