When Jane Fonda uses the F-word it gives me life!

Let me just say, when I first came across Grace and Frankie I was like meh, old people whining doesn’t really do it for me. I left it for ages and then Lily Tomlin won a Golden Globe for Best Actress on TV in 2016 and then it got to season 5 and I’m like, wow, and then finally my cousin tells me how much the show makes her laugh and I finally gave it a second chance.

Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin in Grace and Frankie (2015)

My addiction to the show became so evident that my kids asked me why when they got home from school I was still watching it. I binge watched all 5 seasons in the space of 3 weeks! I just couldn’t get enough. I just didn’t want to even write this blog. I literally went from my last review of Titans to watching this every day for a couple of hours. It really did keep me going.

So why is it so good? Are two pensioners in their 70s relatable? Of course they are because we are all going to get old one day! The way they handle it is beautiful, real and peppered with outbursts of “fuck it!”, the show is just so fun. So many laugh out loud moments.

I’m not going to tell you what it’s about, you’ll get that in the first episode. It’s not just about Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin, who are absolutely brilliant, funny, warm and represent such different personalities the way women can. The rest of the ensemble are brilliant, including Martin Sheen who plays community theatre luvvie which I adore. Grace’s daughter Brianna is probably my favourite: dark, sarcastic, modern, fashionable, and she bloody well knows what she wants.

June Diane Raphael in Grace and Frankie (2015)

I have to recommend this show to anyone who loves a good sitcom that’s light hearted but still makes you think. I might not relate to the characters but I think I have some empathy now for the older generation. I love how they deal with getting older, and we should all be more positive and energetic about life the way Grace and Frankie are.

What else I’m watching and loving:

  • Sex Education
  • Russian Doll
  • Grey’s Anatomy
  • Busy Tonight
  • Grantchester
  • Crazy Ex-Girlfriend
  • Star Trek: Discovery

 

 

Leave a comment